Tuesday, September 12 2023   \  Published by Ojam Bullrich Flanzbaum.

Copyright and Marrakesh Treaty in Latin America

Copyright and Marrakesh Treaty in Latin America

By Antonella Balbo.

It’s been seven years since the entry into force of the Marrakesh Treaty (or hereinafter the Treaty), and yet there are more countries not implementing it than the ones who are. The Marrakesh Treaty is a tool created by the international community that forms part of the body of international copyright treaties administered by the World Intellectual Property Organization (WIPO), which’s main purpose is to enable the creation and distribution of copies of works in accessible formats for people with difficulties in accessing the text, such as the blind, visually impaired, or otherwise print disabled.

It was adopted on June 27, 2013, by the member states of the WIPO and entered into force on September 30, 2016, with Canada depositing its instrument of ratification as the 20th member state. The Latin American countries that implement it to today’s date are Argentina, Ecuador, Peru, Uruguay, Paraguay and Colombia. On the other hand, it is still to be implemented in Brazil, Chile, Mexico and Venezuela.

The Treaty’s provisions require its contracting member nations to create limitations and exceptions to copyright law that will make it easier for those with these kinds of print disabilities to access printed works in accessible formats such as Braille and digital audio files. It also establishes rules for the exchange of such accessible format copies across borders. Read more

Ready to Get Started?

Contact Sales